Maybe I should have said “Grownup”

Admit it, when you read Adult you were hoping for something sexy. Maybe I will post a sexy thought here and there but “Adult Flavored” is meant more to describe my bewilderment with all the roles and hats I have to wear as a grown up, while still feeling like a 32year old kid faking every second of my day. I am a girlfriend to a beautiful, passionate woman. A stepparent to her 3 brilliant children. A soldier in the Army National Guard. A full time student recently enrolled in a real college, the thought of which makes me lose my mind when compared to the ghetto-fabulous education I have receive up till now. An introvert who has spent a lifetime dealing with depression and anxiety. A homosexual who has had a fun bit of discrimination. A writer who can’t seem to find the right artist to help me make my stories come to life.

And if all that isn’t enough, I recently found out I need surgery. Not the easy, better in a week kind either. More: the drugs we give you before that have side effects to rival what it causes to happen chemically to your body and all that comes before the 3 months minimum needed of recovery time. Do I seem like the kind of person who likes to keep still?!

This blog is my safe place, my brain dump, the place I can tell you the insane thing my kids did, where I can share food things I invented, in the absence of friends (who has time) and in the abundance of words to share, to chronicle my phobia of doctors and surgery, and just to be me as I shift under the weight of playing adult.

Enjoy the ride!

One thought on “Maybe I should have said “Grownup”

  1. Pingback: What I Said  | Adult Flavored Chaos

Leave a comment