A Few Questions

Someone wanted to ask me a few questions about being a soldier so I figured I’d share my answers. Thanks again Amber for the chat.

1. what made you choose to become a soldier?
I guess an overdeveloped superhero complex 🙂 always wanted to be one as a kid, I wore all cammo for years and owned a million GI Joe’s. My mom talked me out of it, but at 26 I was sick of being broke, never getting my college education, and never traveling. I saw an article that said “get a college education and help your community” I was signed up in a week.
2. Do you miss your family?
Every day. I write my blog 3 months out so I’m actually back in the states right now. After a week getting settled, I immediately went to visit friends and family. Thankfully, technology is at a place that from Jordan and Kuwait I’ve been able to Facebook messenger and call my family this entire time. Obviously it’s a bandaid, but it made it a lot easier this deployment
3. What was your best experience?
I’ve had so many. My grandfather telling me the stories of his father and of himself and my father (4 generations to carry the name into the US military) and their experiences. Once I had to call a bank to help a fellow soldier get a house. Or when soldiers call me outside of drill for help or with questions. Of course it was pretty awesome when I made the rank of E-6 staff sergeant.
4. When you saw someone dead, what did it make you feel?
I’ve been lucky enough not to be in any combat situations as of yet. The only death I’ve seen was a dying boy in basic training who died of dehydration. I felt helpless and angry. I still think of him and vow to do better for my own Joe’s. His name was Morales and he was 18 years old.
5. How many times a year do you visit friends & family?
I’m in the national guard so I live at home. This deployment we weren’t given any leave so it was a solid 10.5 months without seeing anyone.
6. If you didnt join the army what else would you like to be doing now?
Probably out of shape, miserable, not in school, still trying to make it in retail.
7. Are you proud to be a soldier?
I’m proud to serve my country, to follow in my family’s footsteps, to be a part of something so much bigger than myself, so yes
8. What branch are you in?
Army National Guard out of Pennsylvania
9. Are you still inactive? Where have you deployed before?
I have deployed to Kuwait and Jordan and spent one week in Iraq
10. Do you ever get letters from people you don’t know? How do you feel?
Well I’m an introvert so any kind of attention from strangers makes me uncomfortable, but it’s a part of the job. Schools, churches, etc will send us letters and care packages while we’re overseas which is nice since my last post only had a tiny shop that would run out of stuff.
Interesting questions! I’m always open to talk about my experiences.
Leave a Reply

