20 Years and Going Forward

6 weeks and mostly healed up. Sometimes I forget completely about the surgery until the very end of the day where I’m suddenly without strength, but in general I feel mostly me again. I found it interesting how everyone has been so terribly concerned about my inability to have children now. I never really had any desire to give birth, so that hasn’t been a thing for me. Officially, I’ve been joking for quite some time about not needing my uterus and there is a large part of me very relieved that I won’t have to worry about periods anymore. Considering how rough the surgery was, the whole joking about it things seems rather in bad taste, almost like wishing it so often in passing made it happen. My next joke will be about a million dollars!

Looking back, I got my first period at 13, a rather uneventful thing as I had been waiting for it for 2 years. I had horrible cramps for 20 years ( the kind where I lived on pain killer the first two days and could barely stand or function for the first 10hrs.). Random story about that, I used to work in a video store and every Monday I would rearrange the walls to make room for new releases. My boss was kind but admittedly incompetent and on those Monday’s where I could not stand, he would sit me in a rolling chair and wheel me around the store so I could tell him what to do with the new release walls!

With the horrors of the surgery fading as they should, I wanted to write down that the worst two moments.

When I was just hours out of surgery, I was still disorientated, the gas they used to make space inside me as they worked gathered in my chest so it ached and was hard to breath, I couldn’t pee after hours of trying which meant I couldn’t leave yet, my nurse was like a bull in a china shop slamming into everything (including me), things were hurting and I suddenly got a wave of nausea strong enough to almost knock me over. The second was when still depressed and struggling with my recovery, I stupidly asked my father and step mother for money so I would t have to work while I recovered and they basicly kicked me while I was down.

The best parts were the little things like; not having a massive incision site, friends stopping by to chat and then arguing about me lifting, my girlfriend just being awesome from start to finish about taking care of me, and of course the fact that I am recovering.

Holy shit, if you had told me a year ago that this was going to happen to me (1.5 pound 14 cm mass that needed to be removed along with u uterus and a 2-3month recovery) I would have thought you were high and an asshole. Never saw all this coming, at least it’s mostly done!

Leave a comment